How can I download HDFview?

Hello, sorry I’m very new to the subject. I have a netCDF file and I want to open the file, but I was not successful. As far as I researched, HDFview can open files with .nc extension. I tried to install HDFview on Windows 10 operating system but could not. Although I did not read the instructions, I could not. Can you help me? It is very important to my thesis.

Some Windows 10 installations (e.g., supplied by university or the enterprise that employs you) limit what you can install. If you are using a modern language (R, Matlab, Python, etc.) there is usually support for NetCDF files with grid data. If you file has mapped data, current GIS versions should be able to display it. NASA Panoply is a reliable free standalone viewer for NetCDF mapped grids, but may not be available on restricted installations.

If your NetCDF file is public, it might help to post a link along with the name and version of your preferred programming language.

I thank you for your answer. I can partially view the file using R studio. But I want to see the whole file. I installed HDFview for this, but the program does not open in Windows. I can’t understand where I went wrong. I cannot upload the file as I am a new user. The file contains the 2019-2020 Total column water vapor data from ERA5 hourly data on single levels from 1979 to present.

Hello!

Did you install either the HDFView-3.1.1-win10_64-vs15.zip or HDFView-3.1.1-win10_64-vs16.zip binary and uncompress that? Did any errors or messages pop up when installing?

Please send any details to the HDF Helpdesk and I can help you walk through the issues from there. Just send a message to: help@hdfgroup.org

Thanks!
-Barbara

Hello, I did what you said yes. I completed the setup did not give any warning or error messages. Icon stands on the table. But when I want to run the program, its interface does not open. I tried to run it as administrator but it still didn’t work.