Writing data with 1.10.5 and reading with 1.4.4

I just am trying to figure out if I am spinning my wheels or not?
Is it possible to write an array with the 1.10.5 libraries and still be able to read that data with a 1.4.4 version.
What I am seeing is that basic attributes like floats, integers, and the like are seen as nodes, but the data arrays are not.

I have been using C# with the latest HDF.PInvoke from Nuget (1.10.5)
And Python to C++ with the HL libraries and 1.4.4

Is there a trick I can use to write data in a special way to allow 1.4.4 to see these data nodes?

Thanks,
Joe

What is the reason for v1.4.4?

I am by no means an expert on this topic, as requires understanding of some internal parts of the library, as well as be familiar with C# and PInvoke. OTOH I share what I know on the topic, and if none else pitches, a totally insane idea still better than silence :slight_smile:

Will get to “insane” soon, but for now this property lists suggest of having some control over the library version being used however. “Currently, high must be set to the pre-defined value H5F_LIBVER_LATEST. H5F_LIBVER_LATEST corresponds to the version of the HDF5 Library in use.” indicates there is no actual way to force the library to lower version then its configuration.[^1] within a recent source distribution I only see options for --with-default-api-version=(v16|v18|v110)

Here are two choices to explore – if you feel adventurous:

1. RPC or remote procedure call between the two versions of the library, zeromq and protocol buffer might just do… static linking is required on each end.