Writing array of strings attribute in in Hdf5.net from C#

Hello,

I'm new to HDF5, especially with C#. I'm using the HDF5.net wrappers.

On a particular dataset, I am writing several attributes including some scalar ints, scalar strings and an array of ints. I would also like to write out an array of strings as an attribute. I have some success from C++ using HDF5 but am having trouble even getting going from C# using HDF5.net. Here is what I am trying:

// friendly names attribute
H5AttributeId attrFriendlyNameId = H5A.create(dataSetId, "Friendly Name", H5T.create(H5T.CreateClass.STRING, 256), H5S.create_simple(2, new long[2] { 1, _numChannels }));
H5A.write(attrFriendlyNameId, H5T.create(H5T.CreateClass.STRING, 256), new H5Array<byte[]>(_friendlyNameArrayAscii[cardNumber]));

friendlyNameArray is defined thus:
privatebyte[][][] _friendlyNameArrayAscii =newbyte[_numBoards][][];

I'm certainly not sure of my syntacs. I picked this because it worked for a single string attribute I was printing out. Namely:

byte[] asciiStr = ASCIIEncoding.ASCII.GetBytes(GetBoardNameFromCardNum(cardNumber));
H5AttributeId attrBoardNameId = H5A.create(dataSetId, "Board Name", H5T.create(H5T.CreateClass.STRING, 256), H5S.create(H5S.H5SClass.SCALAR));
H5A.write(attrBoardNameId, H5T.create(H5T.CreateClass.STRING,256), new H5Array<byte>(asciiStr));

As I said, I have some siucess in C++ with different syntax (that I can't find the c# equivalent for!). Briefly I do:

// Friendly Name Attribute
static char staticfriendlyName[NUMBEROFCHANNELPERBOARD][128];
StrType strdatatype(PredType::C_S1, 256); // of length 256 characters
Attribute attributeFriendlyName = dataSet.createAttribute(attrFriendlyName, strdatatype, attr_dataspace_channelLengths);
attributeFriendlyName.write(strdatatype, staticfriendlyName);

I've attached a jpg of the output of C++ (and what I'd like to see with C#).