Write separate files with multithreading

Hello,

I’m very new to the HDF5 library and I’d like to see whether H5 is a good file format for a project I have. I’m interested in writing multiple h5 files at once with different threads so each thread writes a different file, but I’m having some trouble testing this out. Currently I’m just trying to add threading to one of the H5D example files given with HDF5Examples, but I get this error:

#000: C:\autotest\hdf5114-StdRelease-dist-10vs17\build\hdfsrc\src\H5D.c line 1390 in H5Dwrite(): can’t synchronously write data

Through some other discussions on this forum it seems like what I want to do should be possible (Reading and Writing Multiple Files Using Multiple Threads C++ - #3 by gheber), so I want to confirm - is it possible to synchronously write multiple h5 files with multiple threads? I’m also currently trying to do threading with using win32 - is there a better way to use threading with h5 in a windows environment?

I’ve also attached the file I’m currently running in Visual Studio 2022 if anyone wants to take a look, though it’s very messy and likely wrong in various places - I’m not too familiar with C.

Thank you so much in advance!

h5ex_d_fillval.c (5.9 KB)

Do you have a threadsafe build of the library? (H5is_library_threadsafe)

Assuming you do, this will give you the illusion of multiple threads writing to different files or the same file. I’m saying illusion because only one thread at a time can execute code in the HDF5 library. In other words, these threads will not be executing library code concurrently.

OK?
G.

I don’t think I built with --enable-threadsafe - how would I use H5is_library_threadsafe? According to what you said, even with the threadsafe build the threads are NOT actually operating concurrently, just appearing to? But there still shouldn’t be a big issue with writing multiple files with multiple threads?

Thank you!