Working with multiple MPI implementations

Hello,

I'm just starting out with Parallel HDF5 and I've built HDF to use MPICH2 from ANL and it seems to be running successfully on my RedHat Linux 8 processor workstation. This is just one of many software/hardware configurations I will need to support.

My ultimate goal is to use Parallel HDF5 in a product that already provides support for different MPI implementations. We provide the ability to choose which MPI implementation when the product is launched.

Because I needed to specify which MPI implementation before building Parallel HDF5, I'm worried that I may need to rebuild Parallel HDF5 for each MPI implementation we support. Is this true? If not, what steps will be required to switch from one MPI implementation to another?

Would my source code need to be aware of which MPI implementation Parallel HDF5 is using?

Thanks in advance for any responses and if you care to share any advice on using Parallel HDF5, I would be glad to receive it. Thanks,

~John

···

Hi John,

···

On Feb 18, 2010, at 4:28 PM, John Powell wrote:

Hello,

I'm just starting out with Parallel HDF5 and I've built HDF to use MPICH2 from ANL and it seems to be running successfully on my RedHat Linux 8 processor workstation. This is just one of many software/hardware configurations I will need to support.

My ultimate goal is to use Parallel HDF5 in a product that already provides support for different MPI implementations. We provide the ability to choose which MPI implementation when the product is launched.

Because I needed to specify which MPI implementation before building Parallel HDF5, I'm worried that I may need to rebuild Parallel HDF5 for each MPI implementation we support. Is this true? If not, what steps will be required to switch from one MPI implementation to another?

Would my source code need to be aware of which MPI implementation Parallel HDF5 is using?