Static libraries with CMake on Ubuntu

Hello everybody,

i want to use hdf5 with static libraries in a simple cmake C++ project and cant get it to work. I use the the Ubuntu package libhdf5-dev. I googled a lot and didnt find anything useful. I am no expert in neither Ubuntu, nor cmake nor C++, so I am glad for any help.

I will describe my problem in detail and also give some feedback from my experience and point of view. So either I can learn the errors of my ways or it might help future development of Hdf.

My Setup

I use CLion as IDE on Windows 10. It is connected to a WSL Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS where I use GCC. I installed the package libhdf5-dev via sudo apt-get install libhdf5-dev.

apt show libhdf5-dev gets me:

Package: libhdf5-dev
Version: 1.10.0-patch1+docs-4
Priority: optional
Section: universe/libdevel
Source: hdf5
Origin: Ubuntu
Maintainer: Ubuntu Developers ubuntu-devel-discuss@lists.ubuntu.com
Original-Maintainer: Debian GIS Project pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org
Bugs: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+filebug
Installed-Size: 11.6 MB
Provides: libhdf5-serial-dev
Depends: libhdf5-100 (= 1.10.0-patch1+docs-4), zlib1g-dev, libjpeg-dev, libaec-dev, hdf5-helpers, libhdf5-cpp-100 (= 1.10.0-patch1+docs-4)
Suggests: libhdf5-doc
Breaks: libhdf5-serial-dev (<< 1.8.12-9~)
Replaces: libhdf5-serial-dev (<< 1.8.12-9~)
Homepage: http://hdfgroup.org/HDF5/
Supported: 3y
Download-Size: 2461 kB
APT-Manual-Installed: no
APT-Sources: http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic/universe amd64 Packages
Description: Hierarchical Data Format 5 (HDF5) - development files - serial version
HDF5 is a file format and library for storing scientific data.
HDF5 was designed and implemented to address the deficiencies of
HDF4.x. It has a more powerful and flexible data model, supports
files larger than 2 GB, and supports parallel I/O.
This package contains development files for serial platforms.