Simple Question: Selecting just a 2D slice from 3D data

I’m just beginning to program with HDF5 with the C libraries. I have some experience using h5py.

I have a 3D data set representing x,y, and t (time). I just want to select an x,y slice from a given time. This seems to be a job for the hyperslab select functions, but in the examples it says:

The memory dataspace passed to the read or write call must contain the same number of elements as the file dataspace.

So this means if I have a 100x100x500 dataset in a file, I have to make a 100x100x500 array just to read one time slice? This is not practical for my larger datasets. I want to have a 2D 100x100 array that I can store a slice from a given time.

Am I misunderstanding how to use hyperslabs? What is the best way to get a time slice from a dataset?

Hi @andrew.h.gibbons,

Yes, it is possible to select just a 2D slice from 3D data. The way to do this, like you wrote, is through the usage of hyperslabs. One thing to keep in mind is that, when using hyperslabs, the dataset should be chunked with appropriate dimensions (i.e. according to the intrinsic logic of your use-case) so that the HDF5 library may read (or write) the dataset partially; otherwise, if the dataset is contiguous, the HDF5 library will read the entire dataset and only then slice the data according to your hyperslab.

Using HDFql in C your use-case could be solved as follows (as an example):

#include "HDFql.h"

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    // declare variable 'data' to hold slice (i.e. chunk) of data
    int data[100][100];

// create HDF5 file 'example.h5' and use (i.e. open) it
    hdfql_execute("create and use file example.h5");

// create chunked (size 100x100x1) HDF5 dataset 'my_dataset' of type int (size 100x100x500)
    hdfql_execute("create chunked(100, 100, 1) dataset my_dataset as int(100, 100, 500)");

// fill dataset 'my_dataset' with values

// register variable 'data' for subsequent usage (by HDFql)