Selecting rows and columns at the same time

Hi, all. I’m very new to HDF5 and just have finished quickly skimming the API reference.

I found that selecting specific rows or columns of a two-dimensional array can be achieved by using the H5S_SELECT_HYPERSLAB function and the H5S_SELECT_OR operator. However, I would like to select specific rows and columns at the same time. I want this because I only need a small portion (say 10%) of rows and columns in a large dataset, and thus reading rows and then dropping some columns will require unnecessary I/O and decompression operations. I thought there should be an operator function that returns an intersection of two (i.e., rows and columns) hyperslab selections, but I could not find such an API.

So, my question is how we should select or read specific rows and columns in a 2D dataset without wasting time? Any APIs I’m missing?

In this API ref, you can take an intersection using H5S_SELECT_AND when combining them (e.g. multiple successive calls to H5Sselect_hyperslab).

That said, to specify a region which is the intersection of just some rows and just some columns, if the rows and colums are contiguous, it would be a single call to H5Sselect_hyperslab with appropriate values for starts, strides and counts. If the rows and/or columns are NOT contiguous, then you’d do it with multiple successive calls to H5Sselect_hyperslab and H5S_SELECT_AND. For example, first select all the rows of interest using H5S_SELECT_SET, then select all the cols of interest with H5S_SELECT_AND. The result will be only those entries where the rows and cols intersect.