Need Help Using HDF5

Hello,

I’m trying to use the hdf5 libraries to write a small c program to convert csv files to an hdf5 file. I’m on a windows machine, and I’m having a hard time getting to the point where I can actually use the functions/libraries. I’ve installed Cmake, and the prebuilt HDF5 libraries, but seemingly nothing that I do will get it such that any compiler I use sees those libraries. I’ve never used Cmake before, only made basic c programs with gcc. This all seems a bit overkill for what I’m doing. What is the easiest way for me to start using the HDF5 libaries so that they work with a #include in a c file?

Thank you!

Since your planning to write a simple C program(assuming that your using Visual studio), don’t use Cmake. Just get the latest HDF5 libraries and follow this for linking and including headers https://stackoverflow.com/questions/212492/how-do-you-add-external-libraries-for-compilation-in-vc.

I can use visual studio

What do you mean “get the latest libraries”? Do you have a link? I’m sorry to have to be spoon fed, but this entire project continues to baffle me. Also, that stackoverflow link is not clear about what to do either once I have the libaries.
Which libraries? From where? What about the header files? :dizzy_face:

brendan.bogan

[Brendan Bogan](https://forum.hdfgroup.org/u/brendan.bogan)

September 16

Hello,

I’m trying to use the hdf5 libraries to write a small c program to convert csv files to an hdf5 file. I’m on a windows machine, and I’m having a hard time getting to the point where I can actually use the functions/libraries. I’ve installed Cmake, and the prebuilt HDF5 libraries, but seemingly nothing that I do will get it such that any compiler I use sees those libraries. I’ve never used Cmake before, only made basic c programs with gcc. This all seems a bit overkill for what I’m doing. What is the easiest way for me to start using the HDF5 libaries so that they work with a #include in a c file?