Migrating pandas and local HF5 to HSDS

Introduction

I’m new to the HDF community and just wanted to say that I really appreciate the clear and extensive documentation!

In particular, the following references and repositories have been really helpful:

Background & Requirments

I’ve recently been working on a project where I have an ~2GBs pandas DataFrame from which I read small subsets of data and periodically (daily) append small sets of data on the order of MBs. I expect the dataset to remain in the single digits of GBs for the foreseeable future.

Two of the major reasons why I’m using HDF5 with Pandas is due to the following available APIs:

The two functions above make data analysis very quick and efficient when the underlying datastore changes and avoids needing to read everything into memory.

Purpose of Question

While everything works smoothly and quickly locally, moving this to the cloud has a few complications and design decisions that need to be taken into account.

Note: assume that the .h5 file was uploaded to an S3 compatible object store.

If I horizontally scale the service that reads from my HDFStore, I need to make the .h5 file available on every node. The problems I forsee are:

• I would need to download the 2GB+ file on every node when the service starts up. This is slow and expensive even if they’re in the same VPC.
  • I considered packaging the 2GB+ file into the Docker image, but that creates a lot of bloat and makes regular updates to the underlying data troublesome.
  • Given that I need to append small amounts of data to the 2GB file on a daily basis, even if I only have a single writer, that writer will need to re-upload the entire 2GB file every time.

Current State

I configured my kubernetes cluster on Digital Ocean, and am using spaces which is an S3-compatible object store. I was following the instructions at kubernetes_install_aws and got things to work with only a few modifications.