hsload --link vs hsload

Hi guys, I am new to hdf5 and HSDS but I’ve read quite a substantial amount of topics and documentation.
From what I gather, to load a netcdf file into HSDS without copying and/or changing its contents use hsload --link and the file will be available to HSDS with the class ‘H5D_CHUNKED_REF_INDIRECT’.
My question is: how does this compare with loading without the --link flag in terms of performance to read the data afterwards?

If I use the data in a cluster with lots of nodes, would reading the file be faster if I use the native HSDS representation? (i.e. chunks on separate files vs single .nc file) I guess what I am trying to figure out is what is the performance degradation or downsides in using the --link option with a single .nc file.

Thanks

Hi Fernando,

Yes, that’s correct… with the --link option the chunk data in the source file is not copied, but rather the HSDS datasets keep track of where the chunks are in the original source files.

Running hsload with --link is quite a bit faster than without (very little data needs to be copied) and you’ll save on storage costs (if you intend to keep the original HDF5 files around anyway).

Performance is usually a bit better without using linking. It depends a lot on how the HDF5 files are structured though. Best thing would be to try hsloading with and without the link option and see how the performance differs for your intended application.

Let us know what you find out!

Thanks @jreadey I’ve reach more or less the same conclusion.
One thing that was sort of a surprise was that when using --link sometimes seemed that the HSDS server (local) needed to fetch the entire .nc/.h5 file from storage (AWS), resulting in longer first run times than without --link.
Could it be the case that the server is downloading the entire file to the local cache before serving it? Would it be a problem for really large files that don’t fit in memory?