HDFView Out of Memory Error

Dear HDF-Forum,

I have a few questions. Also, I am new to using HDF(5), and have been browsing the user manuals as well as the forum archive, but am stuck with my first hdf5 file.

I submitted a query to the HDF support team, but thought this may also be a good place to get help.

First question: without writing my own scripts to grab web content, is there a way to search all the archives simultaneously? It seems one can only browse month by month, and there are no search options.

Now my hdf5 question. I have created a file using pytables (also created it with h5py and find same behavior). The file is only 105 MB - however, when I try and open the file with HDFViewer, it crashes with the following error

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

The group structure of my file looks like

root
  name
    src
      snk
        cfg
          data

the data = 1 x 48 array of floats
the cfg are tags for different configurations, in my case, 1000, 1010, ... 20100 (1911 in all)
and the rest of the tags are metadata describing the underlying data.

Similarly, when I try and open this file with Mathematica, it also crashes - without giving any error message at all. Given the HDFViewer error, I presume Mathematica is having a similar issue.

If I use h5ls, h5check, or ptdump, all these tools have no problem with my data file. Also, I can open and manipulate them with pytables as well.

If I take the exact same data, and remove the "cfg" sub-group, and so package the data as a 1911 x 48 array of floats, then HDFViewer can open it, as well as Mathematica.

However, for various reasons, it is much more desirable for me to have the structure mentioned above.

It surprises me that such a small file, with such a simple seaming group structure, is causing this crash. I have not been able to locate any info yet on limits of the size of the group structure.

Am I actually running into some size limitations?