HDFView Library Linking Error

I tried to use the search tool to find a similar post. I’m sure someone has had this problem before.

If I try to open an HDF4 file from the open menu, the program quits out - no error. If I use a file association, I get the following error:

HDFView root - C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Local\HDF_Group\HDFView\3.1.1
User property file - C:\Users\Chris.hdfview3.1.1
*** Unable to open file ‘C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Local\Temp\AST_L1T_00306152017033102_20170616101922_32006.hdf’: HDF4 library linking error ***
*** java.io.IOException: Unsupported fileformat - C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Local\Temp\AST_L1T_00306152017033102_20170616101922_32006.hdf ***

I suspect I am missing a file - or it is in the wrong place.

This is ASTER data L1T (EOS Spacecraft). I tried opening multiple files. File corruption is not likely. 22 to 88 MB. Win 8.1 Pro on an i7 gen 9 workstation. I am new to HDFView.

It looks like there is a problem with the new release when accessing HDF4 files. Thank you for reporting! We will try to address the issue ASAP.

Meanwhile, one can find binaries for the old releases at https://gamma.hdfgroup.org/ftp/pub/outgoing/QATEST/hdfview/binaries/windows/

Thank you!
Elena

Unfortunately, the packaging for HDFView 3.1.1, left out the two hdf4 libraries.
If you want to stay with the 3.1.1 release - I believe you can download the HDF4 binary and copy over the hdf and mfhdf shared libraries to your HDFView install/lib folder from the HDF4 install/lib.
NOTE: on windows it would be the install/bin folder to grab the dlls from HDF4.

Allen

Hi

I don’t know if it is poor form to continue a thread with my problem, apologies if so, but I seem to have the same issue with 3.1.2. I’ve downloaded HDFView-3.1.2-centos7_64.tar.gz, and extracted from the rpm within using rpm2cpio.

When loading up the included sample HDF4 file (lib/app/samples/misr_am1_metadata.hdf) it reports the same error, e.g.: