HDF5 Table Performance

Good morning,

I am new to using HDF5 but am so far pretty impressed. I have a couple of questions though.

Currently I am doing some performance studies on appending compound datasets to a single table. I am iterating through a loop appending some number of records/rows to the table to measure performance. I am using the H5BTable API append records calls - are H5BTable appends good performance-wise or should a lower level HDF5 calls be made?

Also, does HDF5 have the concept of graceful shutdown - say if the system crashes before a record is written does HDF5 roll back to last valid point? Sort of like a database system.

Thank you for any information/help.

Hi Richard,
what programming language are you using?
best: steve

Thank you for the response @Steven

I am using C

@richard.haney while ā€˜Cā€™ is a great programming language, and the HDF5 CAPI is a very fast good scalable implementation I do recommend you C++, then re-exporting those subroutines to ā€œCā€.

Alternatively, if interested in maximum performance you need to use the H5D, H5F H5A ā€¦ category function calls and build your own high performance packet table.

Probably you are not interested in C++ but if you changed your mind here is an excerpt CSV convertion to HDF5 example with compiler assisted introspection. You can find the recent slides here and documentation here

/*
 * Copyright (c) 2018-2020 Steven Varga, Toronto,ON Canada
 * Author: Varga, Steven <steven@vargaconsulting.ca>
 */

#include "csv.h"
// data structure include file: `struct.h` must precede 'generated.h' as the latter contains dependencies
// from previous
#include "struct.h"

#include <h5cpp/core>      // has handle + type descriptors
// sandwiched: as `h5cpp/io` depends on `henerated.h` which needs `h5cpp/core`
	#include "generated.h" // uses type descriptors
#include <h5cpp/io>        // uses generated.h + core 

int main(){

// create HDF5 container