h5 Corruption by external SSD

Hi all,

I have a 60 GB h5 file which I believe was corrupted by an external SSD. When re-copied from the source computer on a different SSD, the same file is openable in Python, HDFView 3.14, and MATLAB, but the corrupt files cannot be opened by any of these. Unfortunately, only some of the data is still saved on the source computer, and I fear I may have lost the rest for good, but want to check if there’s any way I might salvage them (such as resetting a closing flag or whatnot; my own research has been a bit confusing as I’m new to this). I get the following errors:

• Python h5py: OSError: Unable to open file (file signature not found)

• HDFView: java.io.IOException: Unsupported fileformat - /Volumes/ShawnP/FixedMaybe/229N4AT11-08_07_48_23.h5

• MATLAB: Error using h5infoc
    Unable to open the file because of HDF5 Library error. Reason:

H5Fget_obj_count not a file id

I’m wondering if there would be any way to reset the file, or even clone meta data from a similar file to just force this to open? Or if there’s any low level processing that can be done? The more I’ve learned about h5s in the past week, the less I feel this is an option, but I thought it would be worth checking if y’all had any ideas, as this SSD systematically corrupted each file, and I wonder if there might be a systematic solution to save all of them.

Thanks for your time!

Hi,

I"m sorry to hear that you lost valuable data during copy.
(It sounds like we need a data protection plan from State Farm or Allsate nowadays. :slight_smile: )

I want to understand your situation better.

a 60G of HDF5 file: Is it one 60G file or multiple files like (60 * 1G HDF5 files).

only some of the data is still saved on the source computer, and I fear I may have lost the rest for good:
If multiple files, did you use move command (or select all files and drag to SSD) between source computer and SSD?
If one HDF5 file, how some of data are still available and accessible?

Hi!