Files open really slowly

Hello,

I am a beginner programmer and learned Python for my bachelor thesis that I am working on right now. My data is stored in .h5 files (file size ~2 MB) and opening and converting them to Numpy arrays posed absolutely no problem so far.

Throughout my data analysis, I created a nested dictionary with important data, 3 numbers and one 1000x1000 array. Because I don’t want to run the computationally expensive function every time I start up my Jupyter Notebook again, and the content of the dictionary doesn’t change a lot, I wanted to save the nested dictionary as a cache. Since JSON is Numpy-incompatible and Pickle has large file size and bad readability, I used dicttoh5 (http://www.silx.org/doc/silx/0.2.0/modules/io/dictdump.html). My .h5 files only have about 725 kB now when I use this compression (copied from the link):

create_ds_args = {'compression': "gzip",
                  'shuffle': True,
                  'fletcher32': True}

But when I open the file now with h5py and use it in one of my function, which used to take only 8 seconds (when the nested dictionary is just stored in Jupyter’s working memory), it takes 140 seconds now.

EDIT: Okay, not so good idea to compress it!! The file size is about 40 MB then. If I take the default value, it takes only 16 (instead of 140) seconds.
Still: Is there room for improvement, to make it faster ? This way, with caching as .h5 files, it still takes double the time…

How are you accessing the data from the file? It sounds like your data is small enough to fit in memory, so it may be easiest to read it all in at once (e.g. with the counterpart h5todict method) and then just operate on NumPy arrays.