Fast Sparse Matrix Products by Finding Allocated Chunks

Hi,

I am using Python h5py to use HDF5, but I am planning on pushing into C/C++.

I am using HDF5 to store sparse matrices which I need to do matrix products
on. I am using chunked storage which 'appears' to be storing the data in a
block sparse format. PLEASE CONFIRM that this is true. I couldn't find
documentation stating this to be true, but by looking at file sizes during
data loading, my block sparse assumption seemed to be true.

I would like to matrix multiply and use the sparsity of the data to make it
go faster. I can handle the algorithmic aspect, but I can't figure out how
to see which chunks are allocated so I can iterate over these.

If there is a better way to go at this (existing code!), please let me
know. I am new to HDF5, and thoroughly impressed.

Thank you,

Aidan Plenert Macdonald
Website <http://acsweb.ucsd.edu/~amacdona/>

Have a look at this reference . . .

http://www.hdfgroup.org/HDF5/doc_resource/H5Fill_Values.html

as well as documentation on H5Pset_fill_value and H5Pset_fill_time.

I have a vague recollection that if you create a large, chunked dataset but then only write to certain parts of it, HDF5 is smart enough to store only those chunks in the file that actually have non-fill values within them. The above ref seems to be consistent with this (except in parallel I/O settings).

Is this what you mean by a 'sparse format'?

However, I am not sure why you need to know how HDF5 has handled the chunks *in*the*file, unless you are attempting to write an out-of-core matrix multiply.