Errors compiling code with h5dread_f

Hi,

I’m new to using HDF5 directly in Fortran. Up until now I’ve been creating HDF5 files with Flash, the numerical hydro code and reading them with python via the yt package.
Now I want to read some of the datafiles produced by Flash and process them within Fortran code.
To get started I’m trying to do something simple - read a small hdf5 file that I created with python (h5py). The file has 5 groups and several datasets under each group. I’m trying to use h5dread_f to read a dataset and during the compile I’m getting
CALL h5dread_f(dset11_id, H5T_NATIVE_INTEGER, projm, arrdim, error)
Error: There is no specific subroutine for the generic ‘h5dread_f’ at (1)
read_grash_inputs.F90:74.69:

The arguments to h5dread_f are:
INTEGER(HID_T) :: dset11_id
DOUBLE PRECISION, DIMENSION(5) :: projm
INTEGER(HSIZE_T) :: arrdim
INTEGER :: error

I have to say that I really don’t understand the meaning of the memory datatype identifier argument. Any hints would be appreciated.
Is there an easier way of doing this?

Regards,
Jon

I can’t advise on the specifics of h5dread_f. However, there is a generic explanation for that message "There is no specific subroutine for the generic ‘h5dread_f’. This simply means one or more of your calling arguments differs in type, number of dimensions, or ordering from what is expected by the HDF5 fortran 90 interface, i.e. the module interface.

If you sort out the argument mismatch(es), you might be able to make further progress. HTH.

Here is an example of how to write/read double precision using both the F90 and F2003 interfaces.

h5ex_t_dble_F03.f90 (3.1 KB)

Okay, I discovered what my problem was. It turns out that the dimensions argument needs to be an array even though it only contains one value. So in the end the call to h5dread_f is:
CALL h5dread_f(dset, H5T_NATIVE_DOUBLE, data, dims, error)