Deflate filter is not available

Hi there! I’m new to HDF5. I’m trying to use h5repack, but I get a lot of warnings saying
Warning: dataset <a_dataset> cannot be read, deflate filter is not available

This page says that ZLIB is the deflate filter. If I understood correctly, the HDF group portal also says that ZLIB (and SZIP) already come within the pre-built binaries, which was the way I installed HDF5 at an Ubuntu distribution in WSL.

Is there something I understood incorrectly? How can I use the deflate filter in h5repack?
Thank you!

First, which version and from where did you you install hdf5. There may be issues with a certain version/download, which we may need to investigate.

1 Like

Thanks for replying!

Version: 1.14.2
Installed from: Index of /ftp/HDF5/releases/hdf5-1.14/hdf5-1.14.2/bin/unix (hdfgroup.org)
File used: hdf5-1.14.2-Std-ubuntu2204_64.tar.gz

Yes it should be there, you could check the lib/libhdf5.settings file and around line 80 there should be a line like:
I/O filters (external): DEFLATE DECODE ENCODE

1 Like

That’s strange. When I execute h5repack --enable-error-stack -l "/GROUP/ENTITY/Data:CHUNK=1024x1x1" "input_file" "outputs/test", the following error is printed:

Warning: dataset </GROUP/ENTITY/Data> cannot be read, deflate filter is not available

Does h5dump show the same failure?

1 Like

I’ve tried h5dump -d /GROUP/ENTITY/Data input_file and the output was:

HDF5 "input_file" {
DATASET "/GROUP/ENTITY/Data" {
   DATATYPE  H5T_IEEE_F64LE
   DATASPACE  SIMPLE { ( 25097, 162, 89 ) / ( H5S_UNLIMITED, 162, 89 ) }
   DATA {h5dump error: unable to print data

}
}
}

One more info: h5repack works if installed in another way — through apt-get —, but the version installed is 1.10.8 instead of 1.14.2, which is the one I’d like to use if possible (because generally it’s more secure and efficient to use updated software).

Could you try the binary from the Github Releases page: Release HDF5 release 1.14.2 · HDFGroup/hdf5 · GitHub

1 Like