Can Compound Dataset been compressed?

Hi guys

I am a newbie to H5, and I am using MATLAB to write a structure array into H5 using compound datatype

My structure has 20 fields, and most fields are 1-D double arrays (20 x 1), and some fields each element consist of 1-D array (like 20 x 1000)

When I tried to define my compound dataset properties with compression = 5
dcpl_id = H5P.create(‘H5P_DATASET_CREATE’); % define PROPERTY LIST
H5P.set_deflate(dcpl_id ,5)
dset = H5D.create (H5File, DatasetName, filetype, space, dcpl_id );

I keep getting errors, asking to initialize chunk size
But i have tried
H5P.set_chunk(dcpl_id,fliplr(20,1));
H5P.set_shuffle(dcpl_id); % - set SHUFFLE FILTE

still error out

For me, I do not think Compound dataset can be chunked, which means Compound dataset can not be compressed also

is this correct that the compound dataset can not be compressed? or am i defining it wrong

Problem resolved,
I am guessing due to my space is created with
space = H5S.create_simple (1,20, []);
so chunk size shall be [1,]

and with below code, I am able to compress my compound dataset

dcpl_id = H5P.create(‘H5P_DATASET_CREATE’); % define PROPERTY LIST
H5P.set_chunk(dcpl_id,[1,]); %#ok
H5P.set_deflate(dcpl_id,5);

There are the following layouts for HDF5 datasets: H5D_COMPACT | H5D_CONTIGUOUS | H5D_CHUNKED | H5D_VIRTUAL where H5D_CHUNKED stands for tiled or chunked layout, and supports filtering and as it turns out some of the filters may rearrange data, others compress them.
Data compression is a bijective map such that after applying the transfer function we get an asymmetry in size. However practical implementations doesn’t give you this guarantee either, in fact the deflate algorithm may end up with a same or bigger size you’ve began with. To support this property of compression algorithms HDF5 filtering provides mechanism to handle cases when there was no actual compression achieved.