Appends data without a bigger malloc?

Hello, I am new to the HDF5 format and I am having some problems with append data to an existing dataset in C.

I have to put a lot of data from another file into an HDF5 file. I am therefore forced to create an unlimited datasets that I expand as I go. My problem is that for some large files I end up with too many values ​​and it becomes difficult to have to malloc an bigger array of doubles.

So is there a way to add to an existing dataset without having to malloc a bigger and bigger array?

I apologize if my question is difficult to understand my level in English is bad enough

Regards,

Hmm…I’m not sure I am understanding your question here but using the appropriate data space (and selections), it is possible to allocate in memory only the stuff you need to append to the dataset in the file.

Also, just because you need to write data to the dataset at different times does not obligate you to use an extendible dataset. If you know (even approximately) the ultimate size of the required dataset, you can create a dataset of that size in the file and then write bits and pieces to it as you need until you’ve written everything you need. If you used chunked layout, I think in all cases, the file size will be such that it will be only the data that has been written, not the whole dataset (until, of course, the whole dataset has been written).

1 Like

Depending on the underlying file system, even a contiguous layout dataset that is partially written can wind up creating a file that would show in ls -l as having a size that is only for the data written (or file blocks that are touched by data written) and not always the actual dataset size. This is because some file systems permit holes in the file address space.

1 Like

Hi @jayson.bonaudo,

To avoid having to allocate an ever increasing array, you need to use a (point or hyperslab) selection like mentioned by @miller86.