Compile error while appending compound data type to chunked dataset FORTRAN

Hello!

I am fairly new to HDF5 and I am trying to create a 2D dataset of a compound datatype. My goal is to create is such a way that each row can be appended to the dataset. I managed to create the dataset write once in it but when I try to append to the dataset later I get a compile error as follow
`s%dset_id, this%memtype, f_ptr, counts, this% error, mem_s, this%dspace_id)
Error: There is no specific subroutine for the generic ‘h5dwrite_f’ at (1)
Makefile:8: recipe for target ‘hdf5output.o’ failed``

My understanding of this is that the function has thinks I am giving in the wrong input to the subroutine. I would be really grateful if I could get any input on things I am doing incorrectly. I am not able to upload the simple test case program I created since I am new user. But here are the excerpts of some of the routines I call.

call h5tcreate_f(H5T_COMPOUND_F, H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(2))), & 
                                                              file%memtype, file%error)
call h5tinsert_f(file%memtype, "id number", H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(1)%idnr)), &
                                                                              H5T_NATIVE_INTEGER, file%error)
call h5tinsert_f(file%memtype, "number of particles", H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(1)%npar)), &
                                                                              H5T_NATIVE_DOUBLE, file%error)
call h5tinsert_f(file%memtype, "cylindrical radius", H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(1)%rdis)), &
call h5tinsert_f(file%memtype, "height above midplane", H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(1)%zdis)), &
call h5tinsert_f(file%memtype, "Stokes number", H5OFFSETOF(C_LOC(swrm(1)),C_LOC(swrm(1)%stnr)), &
! initialize datapsace, dataset and write initial data

dims(1:rank-1) = shape(swrm)
dims(rank) = 1
chunkdims(1:rank-1) = shape(swrm)
chunkdims(rank) = 1
maxdims(1:rank-1) = shape(swrm)